Home > Uncategorized > Back to Haiti

Back to Haiti

I’ve had two weeks to get some perspective on my first trip to Haiti to research my book on Fonkoze.  One was spent primarily interviewing people associated with Fonkoze who live in the Washington and New York areas.  Some are fascinating people who will appear in the book.  Others provided invaluable background and resources.  Last week I vacationed — the one of my six weeks on sabbatical where I tried to unplug and enjoy friends, time with my wife, and California wines.  During my time thinking about this book, I came up with more new questions than answers to ones I identified in Haiti. 

My plan for this trip is extensive.  I arrive later today (hopefully) and will interview a heroic credit agent who I was told was pulled from the rubble hours after the earthquake, and in less than an hour grabbed some crutches and headed off to see how his clients were doing.  Then we head to Jacmel for two days, where Linda Boucard (serving as guide and translator) will help me reinterview Marilyn Bayonet and the ladies on the mountain.  Then onto the Central Plateau, to visit the CLM clients and team there and also the other Fonkoze programs.  Saturday night we return to Port au Prince, and Sunday I plan to draft my book proposal including a sample chapter that my agent will use to hopefully get a contract with a major publisher.  Monday through Wednesday will be spent interviewing staff in the head office. 

I have been encouraged by all the attention people have been paying to this project.  The number visitors to this site crossed 1,000 soon after I returned from Haiti at the end of July.  A listserv for advisors and social media friends of the project is up and running.  I hope to post lots of pictures and videos during this week and have my first day ever with more than 100 hits — we got to 99 in June but never quite crossed the century mark. 

Wish me luck and keep the advice coming!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Karl Huebner
    July 19, 2011 at 4:49 pm

    Great to hear of your continuing efforts to bear witness to and share the story of micro-finance in the world’s poorest places. Politicians, think-tanks, and commentators endlessly pontificate about what should be done, but institutions like Fonkoze and Grameen have always simply gone out and done. And the world is a better place as a result. People need to know that there is real hope for people in places like Haiti beyond endless charity.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

